I noticed yesterday that our Daisy has just gone into heat. We got her in Oct. 2006 right after her first heat cycle. I have never had a dog go through heat before. What can I expect and what should I do or be aware of?...other than the OBVIOUS of keeping her away from Donald.

She isn't very messy at the moment, can I expect that to change?, etc.

Also, how can I tell when it is safe for Daisy and Donald to be together again?

Thanks!

Views: 12180

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I think through the whole cycle you should keep them separated.. Im no expert but from what I recall from our old family lab it was ok once she stopped 'dropping' which was basically the "COME TO ME!" scent. I would definitely look it up or ask your vet for sure...

as for the messy bit its like any female.. unless things change (food, stress, environment, body type) the heat should be the same so just keep changing that puppy diaper hehe :)

I've had two different experiences with heat and dogs.. the first was our lab who got all moody and weird during her heat.. she would gather all her toys and put them in her bed and treat them like puppies... every now then she would 'talk' or whimper to them and then whimper at you if you took one away from her.. she wouldn't play during this time but gently take the toy back from you and run back to her bed lol... when she was done it was as if nothing happened and she would be tearing that same toy to shreds.

the most current my roomies husky just got her heat and she didn't know what to do with herself.. basically circled in her crate and cried.. or just paced around or snuggled up to you as if something was horribly wrong. The good thing that came from it is she's now more loving then she ever was.. though she was most snuggly during her cycle. I think she wasn't used to the cramps and feelings lol.